LibGuides: Anthropology: Start Here

Anthropology is the study of what makes us human.

Anthropology is the study of humankind. The discipline examines the interplay of cultural, social, economic, political, natural and environmental factors in the development of humans and human communities. One of the strengths of anthropology as a discipline is its "holistic" or integrative approach; it links the life sciences, social sciences and the humanities and has strong ties with a multitude of disciplines ranging from biology to the fine arts.

(from California State University Channel Islands, Anthropology Program)

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Start here to find full-text articles, news, online journals, and e-books. A-Z Database List includes subscription databases and materials available only to Full Sail University and free online databases.
KOHA Library Catalog
Start here to find Books and Media available through the Library. You must have a library account in order to check out materials, place holds, or renew materials.
Research Databases
The Library provides access to over 30 databases, covering a range of subjects and topics. You may be prompted to enter your Full Sail email and password in order to access the database menu.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is provided by Full Sail University. It is a premier site for online video tutorials. You must provide your Full Sail credentials in order to access the materials.
O'Reilly Online Learning
O'Reilly Online Learning is a resource for hundreds of e-books and videos. This is a primary source for Full Sail University textbooks.
Microsoft Community
Post questions, follow discussions, share your knowledge on the array of Microsoft products and services.

Introduction

This guide is intended as a starting point for exploring the discipline of Anthropology. It provides access to books, journals, museums and archaeological sites, and digital assets available to enhance an understanding of the pillars Anthropology. This guide provides general introduction to the types of resources available to help develop a broad understanding of the multiple facets of the discipline.

The Four Pillars of Anthropology

Anthropology is comprised of four primary fields plus additional sub-disciplines.

Cultural Anthropology: studies the diversity of human societies in time and space, while looking for commonalities across them. Also called socio-cultural anthropology.
Biological Anthropology: a biosocial science that explores both the sociology and the biology of human groups.
Linguistic Anthropology: the ways in which people negotiate, contest, and reproduce cultural forms and social relations through language.
Archaeology: the study of people in both past and present, using material remains as evidence.

Academic or Applied Anthropology

Academic anthropologists work in academia, serving as instructors and professors in community colleges, colleges, and universities. Their primary responsibility is to educate future anthropologists and to instruct other students in anthropological methods and theories.

Applied anthropologists work in the field outside of academia, where they apply anthropological knowledge, methods, and theories to address contemporary human problems.