LibGuides: Art and Design: Databases

Quick Links

A-Z Database List
Start here to find full-text articles, news, online journals, and e-books. A-Z Database List includes subscription databases and materials available only to Full Sail University and free online databases.
KOHA Library Catalog
Start here to find Books and Media available through the Library. You must have a library account in order to check out materials, place holds, or renew materials.
Research Databases
The Library provides access to over 30 databases, covering a range of subjects and topics. You may be prompted to enter your Full Sail email and password in order to access the database menu.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is provided by Full Sail University. It is a premier site for online video tutorials. You must provide your Full Sail credentials in order to access the materials.
O'Reilly Online Learning
O'Reilly Online Learning is a resource for hundreds of e-books and videos. This is a primary source for Full Sail University textbooks.
Microsoft Community
Post questions, follow discussions, share your knowledge on the array of Microsoft products and services.

Search Tips for Art and Design

Books are best for finding well-known people and well-known ideas and theories.
Use a portion of a book -- chapter, section, a few pages -- if the entire book isn't about your topic.
No books on your artist/designer? Try searching by style or genre of art instead.

Note to students and faculty who are Off-Campus: If you are experiencing any issue accessing the library subscription resources and databases please use the following site: https://oclc.fullsail.edu.

Subscription Databases

Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 770 full-text journals and 220 full-text books, more than 63,000 images, international coverage, and content dating back to 1921. Subjects include advertising art, art history, costume design, graphic arts, graphic novels, motion pictures, non-western art, painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, sequential art, television, and video, and much more.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world. Includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Art and Design Databases Online

Archives of American Art This link opens in a new window
from the website: Founded at the Detroit Institute of Arts in 1954, the Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States.
CAMEO: Materials Database This link opens in a new window
The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.