Learn a new word in English every day. Click on the link to go to definitions and audio pronunciation.
The American Heritage Book of English Usage by
For the first time, the editors of the acclaimed American Heritage(R) Dictionary have applied their efforts to word usage as its own subject. The result is this practical guide that includes chapters on grammar, style, diction, gender, social groups, pronunciation, word formation, science terms, and a subject and a word index.
Cambridge Dictionary of American English
The best American English learner's dictionary is better than ever, with new words and new features. Based on the world's largest corpus of written and spoken American English, it includes up-to-date vocabulary (""blog,"" ""podcast,"" ""wiki""), usage notes that help learners avoid common mistakes, frequency information that identifies the words learners need to know, easy-to-understand definitions, and full-sentence examples that show how English is really used.
Oxford Picture Dictionary by
Content is organized within 12 thematic units, from Everyday Language, to People, to Housing, to Food, to Recreation. Each unit starts with an 'Intro' page (new for this edition) and ends with a story page, with single or double-page sub-topics introducing new words in a realistic visual context and easy-to-learn 'chunks'. The target new vocabulary is listed, and simple practice activities help students to put their new words into practice. Story pages includepre-reading questions to build previewing and predicting skills, and post-reading questions and role-play activities to support critical thinking and to encourage students to use the new language they have learned. Rich visual contexts recycle words from the unit. Thisstructure is designed to address the needs of multilevel classrooms, with much more guidance on this and on assessing needs and lesson-planning given in the supporting components.
400 Must-Have Words for the TOEFL by
For students whose first language is not English and who wish to study at a university with an English-based curriculum, no admittance test is more important than the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL). 400 Must-Have Words for the TOEFL helps you score well by arming you with the most important English vocabulary words commonly found on this crucial exam. This timely guide also encompasses the recent changes made to the test, including the emphasis on conversation and spontaneous communication to mirror the interactive nature of the classroom. 400 Must-Have Words for the TOEFL also includes: Activities such as paraphrasing, synonym and antonym exercises, and identifying prefixes and suffixes Strategies on how to incorporate new words into everyday vocabulary Chapters on identifying synonyms and paraphrasing sentences, roots, prefixes, and suffixes
Essential Words for the Toefl by
This vocabulary building program is specifically designed for ESL students preparing to take the TOEFL. The book presents an organized list of vocabulary words with definitions, sample sentences, and practice exercises for 500 need-to-know words. It also provides detailed advice on ways in which students can expand their English language vocabulary. Students can test their mastery of TOEFL vocabulary by taking the included practice test with answer key, which is designed to help students evaluate their progress, and increase confidence in their vocabulary skills.