The resources included in this guide represent an incomplete list of AI tools available. The ones described in the table focus on tools geared for discovering and synthesizing research.
Acceptable use of ChatGPT and other AI-generated content for student assignments and projects is determined by class and program policy. Consult course materials and instructors for guidance. Like any other source used in assignments, AI-generated content must be cited appropriately, both in-text and as part of the reference list.
APA Style
How to Cite ChatGPT and Other AI-Generated Content
Reference List Example:
OpenAI. (year). ChatGPT (date of version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat
In-text Citation
| NAME | WHAT IT DOES | UNDERLYING DATASETS | PRICING | FAQs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | ChatGPT is designed to generate conversational responses and engage in dialogue with users, simulating human-like conversation. It has been trained on a large corpus of text data to acquire knowledge and linguistic patterns. | The free version was trained on data last updated in January 2022 | Free with upgraded plans available | https://help.openai.com/en/collections/3742473-chatgpt |
| Connected Papers | Like Research Rabbit, this is a citation mapping tool highlighting relations between papers and researchers, and provides ability to find similar research. Visualization of an entire field of research. | Semantic Scholar database with additional links to arXiv and PubMed | Free with upgraded plans available | How It works: https://www.connectedpapers.com/about |
| Consensus | Search engine of LLMs for research papers; finds and synthesizes academic research papers | Over 214 million academic papers from Semantic Scholar database (https://www.semanticscholar.org/) | Free with upgraded plans available; upgrade to premium $6.99/month billed annually; 40% student discount | https://consensus.app/home/blog/welcome-to-consensus/ |
| Copilot | Microsoft AI. Conversational chat interface that searches for specific information, generates text, and creates imagesbased on text prompts. | Connects to the internet. | Free with upgraded plans available. Can be used in Microsoft365 apps for additional fees. | https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/bing?form=MG0AUO&OCID=MG0AUO#faq |
| Elicit | Discovery: searches for research papers; provides one sentence abstract summaries; extracts details from papers into a table. Synthesis: analyzes themes and concepts across multiple papers | Over 214 million academic papers from Semantic Scholar database (https://www.semanticscholar.org/) | Basic plan = Free trial; Plus plan = $10/month, billed annually | https://elicit.com/#FAQ |
| Google Gemini | Gemini (formerly Google Bard) is a large language model AI-powered chatbot that responds to natural language queries. | Connects to the internet through Google services. | Free with upgraded plans available; personal Google account required. | https://gemini.google.com/faq |
| GPT-4 | GPT-4 is a large multimodal model (accepting image and text inputs, emitting text outputs) that, while less capable than humans in many real-world scenarios, exhibits human-level performance on various professional and academic benchmarks | Connects to the internet and large multimodal datasets. | Free with upgraded plans available. Free version uses GPT-3.5 model. | |
| Paper Digest | Summary and synthesis of scientific and technical literature. Digests and one sentence summaries of technical and scientific literature; includes humanities and social science papers. Provides summaries and digests but not links to the actual papers. | Own LLM platform and 3rd party APIs. | Free subscription with search functions; paid subscription provides daily digests of research papers. | https://www.paperdigest.org/frequently-asked-questions/ |
| Perplexity | An answer engine that searches the web and cites sources. | Combines traditional search resources with large language models | Free with upgraded plans available | https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/faq |
| Research Rabbit | Citation mapping tool highlighting the relationships between research works. Uses visualization to help researchers find similar works and authors. | Searches multiple databases but does not identify them. Uses AI to make connections between papers and researchers. | Free; registation is required. | https://bit.ly/490UFij |
| Scholarcy | Reads and summarizes research articles, building a collection of cards with key points, findings, and references. | Uses only those articles uploaded or linked by the user; can import from Zotero; finds reference sources from uploaded papers, searching for open access PDFs from Google Scholar, aiXiv and elsewhere. | Free 7-day trial; Scholarcy Plus = $9.99/month | https://www.scholarcy.com/faq |
| scite | scite is a tool which offers a quantitative and qualitative insight into how scientific publications cite each other. Citation mapping tool. | Articles and citations come from multiple sources. A partial list is available. | Free 7-day trial available. $12-20/month. | https://help.scite.ai/en-us/ |
| Semantic Scholar | Searches scientific journals/papers for relevant content. Creates an AI-generation summary and key points of the papers. | Over 214 million academic papers using web indexing and partnerships with scientific journals, indexes, and content providers. Acts like a traditional database, providing citations, summaries | Currently a free resource; registation is required | https://www.semanticscholar.org/faq |
| SciSpace | Linked with Copilot. A way to find, understand, and learn any research paper. For every paper you read, get simple explanations and answers from AI and discover a network of connected and relevant papers. Includes a citation generator. | A repository of research papers across domains — with metadata of 200 million+ papers (Semantic Scholar resources) and 50 million+ Open Access full-text PDFs. | Basic plan = Free with upgrades available. | FAQs linked at bottom of page https://typeset.io/pricing?pricing_hook=header-hook |
**All links will open in a new window.