LibGuides: Graduate Student Resources: Write and Cite

Style Guides

The OWL at Purdue APA Style
The OWL at Purdue is an easy-to-use resource to consult for APA formatting and style. It covers citation formats and guides for writing.

Citation Machine
Citation Machine is an interactive tool for creating citations.
Cite Fast
CiteFast helps you build and save citations. A free account is required for saving citations.
EasyBib
EasyBib is an interactive tool for creating citations. It also provides in-depth information on citation formatting for several standard styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago.
ProjectAPAdotInfo
ProjectAPA.Info provides the basics of creating citations following the APA style guidelines.
Zotero
Zotero is a free tool for collecting, organizing, citing and sharing resources. It requires you to download the free app.

The EBSCOhost databases include tools to generate citations in a variety of popular citation styles, including APA style.

After finding an article you want to use in your assignment, click on the title in the results list to open the record.
On the right side of the screen is a list of Tools. Select Cite from the Tools menu.
- This generates a list of citations in a number of popular formats.
Scroll down the list to APA style.
Copy and paste the citation into your reference list.
Be sure to proofread the citation carefully to ensure it is complete and matches APA style, and that it includes all of the information required by your instructor.

The Nexis Uni database includes a tool to export citations in a variety of popular citation styles, including APA style.

After finding an article you want to use in your assignment, click on the title in the results list to open the record.
Click on the Export Citation button below the article title.
- This generates citations in a number of popular formats.
Use the drop-down menu to select APA style.
Click on the Copy to Clipboard button to paste the citation into your reference list.
Be sure to proofread the citation carefully to ensure it is complete and matches APA style, and that it includes all of the information required by your instructor.