One of the most powerful forces in world culture, American cinema has a long and complex history that stretches through more than a century. This history not only includes a legacy of hundreds of important films but also the evolution of the film industry itself, which is in many ways a microcosm of the history of American society as a whole. The Historical Dictionary of American Cinema provides broad coverage of the people, films, companies, techniques, themes, and genres that have made American cinema such a vital part of world cinema. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about the history of American Cinema.
Comprising 91 A–Z entries, this encyclopedia provides a broad and comprehensive introduction to the topic of religion within film. * Presents 91 A–Z entries that illuminate topics of geographic and regional interest, biographic data, categories common in the study of religion, and examinations of specific films or film-related events * Contains contributions from a remarkable group of distinguished, well-published authorities and younger scholars, all with relevant backgrounds in religion, film, culture, or multiple areas of expertise * Includes images of important film directors as well as film stills * Provides selected bibliographic information regarding the intersection of religion and film that supplements the "for further reading" section of each entry * Offers an indexed filmography of works noted throughout the encyclopedia, providing significant information about each film, such as year released, director, and major actors
In the course of its rich history, cinematic animation has developed from silent monochrome images to sound-filled shorts that ran theatrically with newsreels and adventure serials, and ultimately to prestigious feature films like Disney's Fantasia. This second edition of The Animated Film Encyclopedia: 1900-1979 (McFarland, 2000) is a comprehensive listing of theatrical animated cartoons through the end of the 20th century, as well as significant animated sequences in live-action films. New to this edition are many titles involving computer-generated animation (CGI), including the resoundingly successful Toy Story (1995). An introduction discusses the events leading from the early days of animation to the advent of computer graphics imagery. Each of the thousands of individual entries includes production information, date, running time, and a synopsis. Full voice credits are also provided for many of the films.
This provocative three-volume encyclopedia is a valuable resource for readers seeking an understanding of how movies have both reflected and helped engender America's political, economic, and social history. * Provides 450 A–Z entries that comprehensively cover the historical significance of subjects, people, and films of the American cinema * Contains contributions from 150 distinguished interdisciplinary scholars offering their analysis on the role of movies in American history * Includes reference materials and suggestions for further reading with every entry
This link opens in a new window