Quick Reference

Introduction to concepts and terminology used in digital photography. Site includes a variety of tutorials and essentials for photography.

Reviews, buying guides, and articles on digital photography.

Tips, resources, and tutorials for improving your photography. Also includes reviews of gear.

Basic terms, phrases, and numbers used in digital photography.

More than one million public domain images from the British Library's digitised collection of over 65,000 books.

According to the website, Compfight is an image search engine tailored to efficiently locate images for blogs, comps, inspiration, and research. Contains both commercial and Creative Commons images.

CC Search provides access to search services of other independent organizations. As a user of the resources, you are responsible for ensuring appropriate creative commons licenses are in effect for any assets selected.

More than 99,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and Getty Research Institute which are in the public domain.

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to images from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) historical collections. IHM is available through NLM’s Digital Collections, a free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

Over 830,000 stock images, videos, vectors and illustrations that are free of copyright under Creative Commons 0.

Nearly 80,000 historic images, footage, audio clips and 3D models available for use. Freely available.

This is a curated collections of images, books, audio and film that are in the public domain. Searchable by type of public domain rights.

Collection of images from the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Because these images are taken by the federal government, most are in the public domain and available to use freely.

Provides a list of resources for finding public domain images.