LibGuides: Full Sail DC3 Digital Resources: Business

Business Databases

Corporate Register This link opens in a new window Global online directory of corporate responsibility (CR) reports past and present. Register for free Limited Access Membership for access to corporate non-financial reports, including Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), sustainability, environmental and social reports.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window EDGAR contains over 21 million filings from publicly traded and other companies. The database is provided free from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. The database can be searched by company name, ticker symbol, or SIC/NAICS codes.
GuideStar Nonprofit Reports This link opens in a new window Directory of nonprofit organizations. Free registration to view the 3 latest IRS Form 990s for nonprofits with revenue over $25,000, annual reports, and balance sheet data.

Government Resources

Bureau of Labor Statistics Demographic Data Several programs at the Bureau of Labor Statistics make significant amounts of data available for specific demographic categories.
CIA World Fact Book Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
SEC Securities and Exchange Commission is responsible for the oversight of the financial markets. Publicly traded equities (stock) is required by law to file financial reports with the SEC on a quarterly basis.
SelectUSA SelectUSA is a government agency that provides information and resources for economic development in the U.S. It offers overviews of several of the U.S. industries.
Small Business Administration SBA provides tools and resources for small business to promote growth and development. They offer educational materials, information about grants, and other small business opportunities.
U.S. Department of Commerce U.S. Department of Commerce oversees economic growth and development. the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office are all divisions of Commerce.
USA.gov Official guide and gateway to government information and services from the United States government.

Intellectual Property

U.S. Copyright Office Information and resources for registering copyrights. Includes searchable database for registered copyrights, applications, and research and certification.
United States Patent & Trademark Office Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks. Includes access to searchable patent and trademark databases.
World Intellectual Property Organization Information, resources and publications related to intellectual property. International in scope.

Business News

Bloomberg's Businessweek Global and national business and finance news. Some content on website requires a subscription. Also available in full text through Business Source Complete database.
The Business Journals Regularly published rankings and lists. Some content requires a subscription. Source of information for private companies.
CNNMoney International and national business, finance, and personal finance news.
Entrepreneur
Articles, how-to, and lists from Entrepreneur magazine.
Inc. Business and financial news and advice. Good source for rankings. Numerous special reports. Technology and innovation.
Reuters Global business and financial breaking news.

Online Dictionaries

Black's Law Dictionary
Free online legal dictionary; over 15,000 legal terms defined.
Business Dictionary
Provides definitions of key business and financial terms. Numerous articles on trending and current topics.
Financial Terms - Dictionary of Business & Financial Terms
From The Street with Jim Kramer. Definitions and explanations of financial terms.
Investopedia Dictionary
Financial and economic terminology
Investor Words
Words and phrases used in finance and investing. Includes articles related to investing.
Reuters Financial Glossary
Terminology for economics, financing, foreign exchange, money, and equity markets.

Associations & Organizations

Associations and organizations are excellent sources of industry-specific information. They prepare annual reports, follow trends, and provide current information about the status of the industry.

American Association of Independent Music From the website: A2IM is an organization of independent music labels that promotes business opportunity, provides advocacy and representation, as well as networking opportunities for the independent label community.
Association of American Publishers From the website: AAP is trade organization representing commercial, digital learning and education and professional publishers alongside independents, non-profits, university presses and scholarly societies. We represent the industry's priorities on the protection of intellectual property rights and worldwide copyright enforcement, freedom to read and publish, digital and new technology issues, funding for education and libraries, tax and trade and literacy.
The Entertainment Software Association From the website: The Entertainment Software Association (ESA) is the U.S. association dedicated to serving the business and public affairs needs of companies that publish computer and video games for video game consoles, handheld devices, personal computers and the Internet.
Independent Film & Television Alliance From the website: IFTA is the global trade association for the independent motion picture and television industry, and the voice of advocate for independents worldwide.
Motion Picture Association of America From the website: We are the voice of one of the country’s strongest and most vibrant industries – the American motion picture, home video and television industry. We aspire to advance the business and the art of filmmaking and celebrate its enjoyment around the world.
Music Business Association The Music Business Association (Music Biz) is a not-for-profit membership organization that advances, promotes and invests in the future of the music business by providing a trusted forum where ideas and cooperation flourish.
National Association of Broadcasters From the website: As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.
National Music Publishers Association From the website: National Music Publishers’ Association (NMPA) is the trade association representing all American music publishers and their songwriting partners. Its mission is to protect, promote, and advance the interests of music’s creators.
Recording Industry Association of America From the website: The Recording Industry Association of America® (RIAA) is the trade organization that supports and promotes the creative and financial vitality of the major music companies.

Industry Classifications

Introduction to North American Industry Classification System The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
North American Industry Classification System The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
SIC Codes/NAICS Standard Industry Classifications and North American Industry Classification System used in classifying businesses in the U.S. and across North America. Essential for targeted database searching.
U.S. Census Bureau NAICS FAQ FAQs and NAICS search from the U.S. Census Bureau.

International Industry and Trade

International Monetary Fund Global economics and statistics.
UN Comtrade From the website: UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables.
UNStats from the United Nations Statistical Division within the Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Includes access to global disability statistics, population and vital statistics.
World Bank Group From the website: The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. We are not a bank in the ordinary sense but a unique partnership to reduce poverty and support development.

Lists and Rankings

Annual lists and rankings are excellent sources of information about companies and the people who direct them. Many business websites and periodicals feature annual rankings, such as the Fortune 500.

Fast Company Focuses on innovative companies and creative people in business. Rankings and lists. Some content requires subscription.
Forbes Lists Lists and rankings of companies and people. Some content requires subscription. Full text of Forbes magazine available in Business Source Complete database.
Fortune 500 Annual ranking of some of the world's largest corporations.
Fortune Lists Forbes ranks companies on a variety of features, including global rankings, best places to work, etc. A good source for information on smaller companies.