Full Sail DC3 Digital Resources: General Resources

Economic Research Institute Salary Expert provides global cost of living and salary data. It offers tools for evaluating career, relocation, and education decisions.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you the earnings, expected prospects, and working conditions for hundreds of jobs. It also provides job search tips, links to information about the job market in each state, and more.

Sperling's Best Places Cost of Living Calculator allows you to compare the cost of living between two cities based on salary. The comparison includes food, housing, transportation and health care costs. The tool helps you determine what salary you need to maintain the same standard of living.

The Federal Government's Official Job Website. You must create a profile in order to apply for Federal jobs, but you can search the job opportunities without a profile.

From the U.S. Census Bureau. Excellent resource of U.S., State and City demographic information.

Quality data on religion worldwide.

Source for state, commonwealth, and territory comparative data. Statistical tables can be downloaded as PDFs or as a spreadsheet, allowing users to customize data.

Several programs at the Bureau of Labor Statistics make significant amounts of data available for specific demographic categories.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Offers fact sheets for all demographic groups including women and young people.

The U.S. Census Bureau tracks population trends in the U.S. This is an excellent resource for finding current and projected population estimates for the U.S., States, Counties, Cities, and Non-Metropolitan areas.

from the United Nations Statistical Division within the Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Includes access to global disability statistics, population and vital statistics.

Online encyclopedia including articles, illustrations, images, and multimedia resources.

Includes translation and grammar. Available in multiple languages.

An internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.

Free online thesaurus with visualization and word mapping.

Includes a dictionary and thesaurus.

Trending words and phrases from mythology. Incorporates popular mythology from around the world.

Explanations of acronyms and emoticons used in daily life on the Internet.

from the Georgia Humanities Council, University of Georgia Press, University System of Georgia and the Office of the Governor of Georgia. Historical facts, biographies, and events occurring in or impacting the State of Georgia.

Business and finance definitions; articles; trending topics.

American, English and urban slang.

Free research tool from Oxford Reference. Includes over 12,600 quotations.

Free online visual dictionary and thesaurus with word mapping.

Includes grammar, word of the day, definitions, and thesaurus.

Contemporary slang

From Merriam Webster

Includes a visual dictionary, visual thesaurus and interactive lexicon.

From Microsoft

Online language translator. Multiple languages.

Free, online language translator. Multiple language choices.

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Interactive, historical maps and atlases of the United States. From the University of Richmond.

Encyclopedia, almanac, atlas, biographies, dictionaries and more. Provides fast facts, lists, and statistics on almost everything you want to know.

Weather, astronomy, gardening, calendars, moon phases. North America’s oldest continuously published periodical.

Maps, time zones, travel, geography and more. Site has advertising.

Considers multiple perspectives of news and issues. Presents perspectives from the right, the left, and the center.

From the website: FactCheck monitors factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.

Radio/podcast series from WNYC public radio on evaluating news stories and the media for truthful and accurate reporting..

Investigates and measures the truthfulness/accuracy of statements made by political figures in TV ads, speeches, news articles, interviews, etc.

Global business and financial breaking news.

Snopes is best known for its in-depth research on urban legends and rumors.

Official guide and gateway to government information and services from the United States government.

Simple explanation of how a bill becomes a law. Excellent overview for understanding federal government processes.

From the website: The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

Quality data on religion worldwide.

Source for state, commonwealth, and territory comparative data. Statistical tables can be downloaded as PDFs or as a spreadsheet, allowing users to customize data.

Statistical information on crime, law enforcement, victims of crime, and criminal offenders.

Statistics and information on transportation.

Data and statistics from the U.S. government on health and disease.

The U.S. government's open data sets. Includes agriculture, climate, consumer, health, science and research data sets.

Global data and statistics on the challenges facing the world.

Live stats of Internet usage, including online searches, use of social media, and sales of smart phones worldwide.

Funding provided by National Endowment for the Arts. Contains 272 data sets. Free and easy access to data on the arts and on the arts' value and impact for individuals and communities.

From the website: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published from 1878 to 2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. It is designed to serve as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to other statistical publications and sources both in print and on the Web. These sources of data include the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Travel advice and tips. Destination descriptions.

Ideas, advice, destinations, travel planning.

Travel, destinations, planning, advice, travel tips.

Generates names and descriptions especially for the fantasy genre.

From the website: unbiased, reliable, easy-to-understand answers and explanations of how the world actually works.

Space exploration, NASA launches, images, video, science and technology.

From the Social Security Administration. Popular baby names by year, beginning in 1880. Searchable by State, Decade, Change in Population and more.

A comprehensive, searchable database of rollercoasters and amusement parks around the world.

Covers book reviews, annual best of book lists, book awards, and great reads.

Covers fantasy, science fiction, fantasy, romance, non-fiction, general fiction.

Book reviews and articles on literary life in Los Angeles from the LA Times newspaper.

Reviews, best sellers lists, essays about books.

Online magazine featuring reviews, pre-pub alerts, and news about the publishing industry.

Covers books and digital resources across all fields of history. Includes access to a number of special issues focusing on specific topics in history.