History of Horror: Overview

These are places horror films have warned us about:

1. The Basement (Get Out)
2. Hill House (The Haunting of Hill House)
3. Jurassic Park (Jurassic Park)
4. The Moors (An American Werewolf in London)
5. The Overlook Hotel (The Shining)
6. The Prom (Carrie)
7. Skull Island (King Kong)
8. The Suburbs (Poltergeist)
9. Summer Camps (Friday the 13th)
10. Transylvania (Dracula)

1. Arsenic and Old Lace (1944)
2. Meet Me In St. Louis (1944)
3. It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (1966)
4. The Hollywood Knights (1980)
5. Mr. Mom (1983)
6. The Addams Family (1991)
7. Hocus Pocus (1993)
8. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
9. Grumpier Old Men (1995)
10. Boo! A Madea Halloween (2016)

• A-Z Database List

  Start here to find full-text articles, news, online journals, and e-books.

• KOHA Library Catalog

  Start here to find Books and Media available through the Library. You must have a library account in order to check out materials, place holds, or renew materials.

• LinkedIn Learning

  LinkedIn Learning is provided by Full Sail University. It is a premier site for online video tutorials. You must be logged into Connect in order to access the materials.

• Research Databases

  The Library provides access to over 30 databases, covering a range of subjects and topics. You may be prompted for your login to Connect.

• Nexis Uni™
  Included as one of the Research Databases, Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. You may be prompted for your login to Connect.

• O'Reilly Online Learning

  O'Reilly Online Learning is a resource for hundreds of e-books and videos. This is a primary source for Full Sail University textbooks. (Accessed through the Library's About Page.)

• 100 Best (and Scariest) Horror Books of All Time: A Reedsy.com/Discovery blog.
• American Film Institute...100 Thrills: The 100 Most Thrilling American Films
• Blumhouse Productions: "Regarded as the driving force in horror."
• Bram Stoker Awards: Presented by the Horror Writers Association.
• Creepypasta: horror stories and online fiction.
• Crypt TV: films.
• Gothic.net: all things gothic.
• Greek mythology.
• Horror Writers Association: Organization promoting horror and dark fantasy.
• IMDB.com: Film and television database.
• Reddit/No Sleep: stories.
• Slenderman: fictional character.
• Strange Horizons: an online magazine.
• SurLaLune Fairy Tales: Features folk tales and annotated fairy tales.
• Uncanny: an online magazine.
• Victorian Gothic: The British Library's web display.
• Writers Write Horror Resources.

For articles or books the Full Sail University Library does not have in its collection, an Interlibrary Loan request can be submitted by using the link below. The Library team will then request the item from libraries that have the material. Include as much item information as possible in your email to ensure we locate the correct item. You will receive an email once the request is received and filled, and again when the item is received and sent to you, either via mail (for physical items) or via email (for digital items). It can take anywhere from one day to two weeks to fill your ILL request. Keep this is mind when requesting an item. Full Sail students and staff members can check out one ILL book at a time and can check out unlimited ILL journal articles.

Click here to begin form.

T 407.679.0100 x.8438

F 407.551.2039

E library@fullsail.com

3300 University Blvd., Building FS3E

​Winter Park, FL 32792