The Sixties began with optimism. A young president, JFK, and his stylish wife, Jackie, symbolized that hope. During the decade, revolution was in the air. A revolution in media, in music, in politics, in citizenry, in art, in science and technology. As New York Times writer John Rockwell (p. 1) put it, "It was a decade of exclamation points."
The events and developments in the 1960s did not occur in a vacuum. In many cases, they were the results of many years of work by influential pioneers. Music was especially influenced by earlier artists in the blues, gospel, country, folk and popular music.
The answers will be found in this Guide.
For articles or books the Full Sail University Library does not have in its collection, an Interlibrary Loan request can be submitted by using the link below. The Library team will then request the item from libraries that have the material. Include as much item information as possible in your email to ensure we locate the correct item. You will receive an email once the request is received and filled, and again when the item is received and sent to you, either via mail (for physical items) or via email (for digital items). It can take anywhere from one day to two weeks to fill your ILL request. Keep this is mind when requesting an item. Full Sail students and staff members can check out one ILL book at a time and can check out unlimited ILL journal articles.
Strain, C. B. (2016). Long Sixties: America, 1954-1974. Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
_-_NARA_-_542015_-_Restoration.jpg)
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Mathew Ahmann in a crowd.
Author: Rowland Scherman; restored by Adam Cuerden.
U.S. Information Agency. Press and Publications Service. (ca. 1953 - ca. 1978)
Source: U. S. National Archives and Records Administration
An elderly woman, standing at Berlin Wall, in west sector, with hands raised, after waiting three hours to see her East Berlin friends and relatives (1961).
Author: Dan Budnik; Source: Library of Congress.
Movie released May, 1969.
Author of "Silent Spring".
Official photo as FWS employee. c.1940
Source: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
3 Days of Peace and Music
Festival date: August 15–17, 1969.
Movie released March 1970.
Heller, J., & Buckley, C. (2011). Catch-22: 50th Anniversary edition. New York: Simon & Schuster.
Apollo 11 Mission July 20, 1969
Source: NASA
Painting of Ali by pop artist John Stango
Source: Mimi Eberfeld (found on Wiki Commons)
Republic of Vietnam...Members of U.S. Navy Seal Team One move down the Bassac River in a Seal team Assault Boat (STAB) during operations along the river south of Saigon., 11/1967
Source: U. S. National Archives
Cottrell, R. C. (2015). Sex, Drugs, and Rock N Roll: The Rise of Americas 1960s Counterculture. Erscheinungsort nicht ermittelbar: Rowman & Littlefield.
Source: The Golden Age of Advertising: The 60s by Heimann & Heller
In 1966, California's Bank of America creates BankAmerica Service Corp. to license other banks to issue BankAmericard. Two million Americans have BankAmericards that are accepted by 64,000 merchants. The Master Charge credit card is first issued.
American households with a television set in 1960: 88%
American households with a television set in 1970: 92%
Color TV ownership in 1961: 1.2%
Color TV ownership in 1970: 9.2%
American households with a telephone in 1960: 78%
American households with a telephone in 1970: 92%
Average hourly wage in manufacturing 1960 = $2.26 (in 1998 dollars: $12.36)
Average hourly wage in manufacturing 1970 = $3.36 (in 1998 dollars: $14.61)
Average hourly wage in manufacturing 1998 = $8.19
Federal Minimum Wage Rates:
1960: $1.00 (in 1996 Dollars: $5.30)
1970: $1.60 (in 1996 Dollars: $6.47)
Average prices for items in 1968:
| Products | Cost |
| New car (4-dr, 8-cyl) | $3,200.00 |
| Beer (6-12 oz). | $ 1.22 |
| Butter (1 lb) | $ 0.83 |
| Cigarettes (pack of 20) | $ 0.37 |
| Eggs (1 dozen, large, grade A) | $ 0.37 |
| Gasoline (1 gal., premium) | $ 0.57 |
| Movie Admission | $ 1.61 |
| Radio, table model | $ 18.21 |
| Television set (18") | $ 141.49 |
| Washing Machine (electric) | $ 218.94 |
Source: The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s by Farber & Bailey, pp. 361, 362, 396
| 1960 | 1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 |
| Barbie Doll | Electric Toothbrush | Polaroid color film | 5-digit zip codes | Pop tarts |
| Lycra | Tab and Diet Rite colas | Tab-opening aluminum cans | Weight Watchers Trimline Phone | Ford Mustang |
| Felt-tip pen | Tab-opening aluminum cans |
Regularly scheduled color television broadcasting (ABC 3.5 hours a week)
|
Kodac Instamatic Camera | Movies on Airplanes |
| AstroTurf |
IBM Selectric typewriter with moving "golf ball" for type |
Freeze dried coffee | ||
| Lasers | GI Joe Action figure | |||
| 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968 | 1969 |
| Miniskirt | Stereo cassette decks | Microwave for home use | 911 Emergency Number (in New York City only) | ATMs in banks |
| Sony home videotape recorder | Lyrics on album covers | Corporation for Public Broadcasting | Jacuzzi Whirlpool Bath | Concorde Airplane first flight |
| 1970 | ||||
| No-fault divorce law (California) | ||||
| Quadraphonic sound | ||||
| Safety tops on drugs and poisons |
Source: The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s by Farber & Bailey, p. 445
13 Jobs that existed in 1960 that either don't exist or barely exist today:
Source: goodhousekeeping.com and Inc.com
14 Jobs that exist today that didn't exist in the 1960s:
Source: Colonial Life Insurance
| Male | Female |
| 1.Michael | Lisa |
| 2.David | Mary |
| 3.John | Susan |
| 4.James | Karen |
| 5.Robert | Kimberly |
| 6.Mark | Patricia |
| 7.William | Linda |
| 8.Richard | Donna |
| 9.Thomas | Michelle |
| 10.Jeffrey | Cynthia |
Source: U. S. Social Security Administration. (In order of popularity)
| 1960 | 1970 | 2010 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. Population | 179,323,175 | 203,302,031 | 308,745,538 |
| Ten Largest Cities | New York City, NY | New York City, NY | New York City, NY |
| Chicago, IL | Chicago, IL | Los Angeles, CA | |
| Los Angeles, CA | Los Angeles, CA | Chicago, IL | |
| Philadelphia, PA | Philadelphia, PA | Houston, TX | |
| Detroit, MI | Detroit, MI | Philadelphia, PA | |
| Baltimore, MD | Houston, TX | Phoenix, AZ | |
| Houston, TX | Baltimore, MD | San Antonio, TX | |
| Cleveland, OH | Dallas, TX | San Diego, CA | |
| Washington, DC | Washington, DC | Dallas, TX | |
| St. Louis, MO | Cleveland, OH |
San Jose, CA |
Percentage of women (16 and older) in the labor force:
1960: 34.8
1970: 42.6
Number of Female Members of Congress:
1961 1 Senator 15 House of Representatives
1971 1 Senator 12 House of Representatives
Source: United States Census Bureau
Wanna talk Sixties. Here's some terms, words and phrases.
Unless otherwise denoted, definitions provided by Online Slang Dictionary.
Amount spent on recreation by Americans
1960 $18 million
1970 $40 million
Attendance to the New York World's Fair of 1964 = 51 million
Percentage of Americans 12 years and over in 1972 who:
went camping in a developed camp ground 11
camped in a wilderness area: 5
went sailing 3
went horseback riding 5
went bicycling 10
went fishing 24
played tennis 5
played golf 5
went driving for pleasure 34
went picnicking 47
Sources: The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s by Farber & Bailey, p. 353
T 407.679.0100 x.8438
F 407.551.2039
3300 University Blvd., Building FS3E
Winter Park, FL 32792
Start here to find full-text articles, news, online journals, and e-books.
Start here to find Books and Media available through the Library. You must have a library account in order to check out materials, place holds, or renew materials.
LinkedIn Learning is provided by Full Sail University. It is a premier site for online video tutorials. You must be logged into Connect in order to access the materials.
The Library provides access to over 30 databases, covering a range of subjects and topics. You may be prompted for your login to Connect.
O'Reilly Online Learning is a resource for hundreds of e-books and videos. This is a primary source for Full Sail University textbooks.
Farber, D. R., & Bailey, B. L. (2005). The Columbia guide to America in the 1960s. New York: Columbia University Press.
Heimann, J., & Heller, S. (2007). The Golden Age of Advertising: The 60s. New York: Barnes & Noble.
Rockwell, J. (2014). The Times of the Sixties: the culture, politics and personalities that shaped the decade. New York, NY: Black Dog.
Strain, C. B. (2016). Long Sixties: America, 1954-1974. Wiley & Sons, Incorporated.
